Eggs in the Can

A funny thing happened to me over the weekend. I felt compelled to wake up an extra hour or so early (after about 3 hours total of sleep) to make a full fledged breakfast for him.

To be honest, I’m not super domesticated, but something inside of me really wanted to do something nice for him. After all, whenever he visits or I visit him, he practically pays for everything, drives everywhere and does oddball home, computer or othet misc technical repairs for me,

 ✌🏾️just because ✌🏾️.

I feel kind of damsel in distress around him, minus the fact that he sincerely thinks I’m intelligent and strong willed, yet very sweet and thoughtful. 

Anyway, I got to thinking, what can I do as a nice gesture? He even upped the anty by bringing me a souvenir from Disney World (he was there with family a few weeks ago, mostly for his niece) and that shit can get expensive. I felt flattered that he thought enough of me to bring me back a gift from nearly twelve hours away. While I couldn’t do something like Disney, I could cook. All men like eating, especially him. He’s a bonifide “breakfast” person, so A-ha.

I got up at 5 a.m. Friday morning after he kept me out til 1:30 a.m. (he got in late to my late and took me out for drinks for a bitch to catch up) or so to make pancakes, eggs and bacon as he slept peacefully, completely unaware of what I was doing. I even made him iced coffee, which he swears by. 20 or so minutes of mixing and flipping and breakfast was finished. I carefully brought the food to him just as he was waking up and he was super appreciative, but I was running late for work by this point so I didn’t stick around.

Fast forward  to yesterday when I’m contemplating taking out the trash to notice some eggs dangling over the corner of the trash can and since I haven’t had eggs recently, I knew they were from him.

So ok, part of me feels slightly offended, like I made this shit for you, dude, how dare you dispose of it, but the other part of me tried the eggs and unfortunately, they were not my greatest scrambled eggs to date, so I understand. Regardless of the reasoning behind the eggs in the can, he repeatedly thanked me for the kind gesture of making him breakfast throughout the weekend.

Aww.

The eggs in that trashcan got me to thinking how I would respond if our roles were switched or if there had ever been a time he ever cooked me anything (NEVER), or given me something I wasn’t exactly a fond of. There was a time many moons ago when we were actually dating and he brought me stuff from comic con, that was kind of meh, but I still have the comic book and wear the t-shirt inside my house occasionally. I was very nice of him to even think enough of me to bring me anything at all. Cooking wise though he doesn’t cook, but there has been a time or two where he treated me to dinner someplace that was horrible, lol. I choose not to say anything and thanked him for it anyway. 

All in all, I’m not really offended, I at least appreciate that he appreciated my effort. And hey, he ate the pancakes and bacon. That’s all I really ask. 

Leave a Reply

