“Greging”

settle
I’ve been watching the show, “Crazy Ex-Girlfriend” a lot lately. While quite silly, the show takes a stab at some pretty interesting human interactions.

Take one of the main characters, “Greg” for instance. For lack of giving the entire show away, he’s an on again, off again love interest of the show’s star, “Rebecca” (or “Becks”). Josh is not her main love interest though and their “relationship” seems to yo-yo off of the following:

  • She’s bored
  • She’s drunk
  • She’s lonely
  • Her main love interest isn’t paying attention to her

All the while, Greg really likes her, even through her crazy and eratic behavior.

Watching the show got me to thinking, have I ever “greged” anyone?


The short answer to that is, yes, but it’s more of an unintentional thing. There have been times in life where I’ve entertained guys that I wasn’t entirely interested in, but for whatever reason he held just the bare amount of my attention for it to be fun for a season.

Of course, I know this is a horrible thing to do, because no one deserves to be “settled on”. Usually once I realize I’m doing something even remotely similar to this, I try to make it a point not to prolong it.

On the flip side, I know I’ve also been “greged” and while it sucks, I’m more than ok now.

Anyway, I’m not currently “greging” anyone at the moment, but in the show’s own silly way, it heightened my awareness to not:

  1. Settle for someone
  2. Fuck with someone’s emotions
  3. Keep an open mind

Welp, here’s to making it a great Friday.

Leave a Reply

