One of the Good Days

It’s been a few weeks now and I’ve recently gotten to a point where I feel completely at peace with everything.

In thinking over these past few weeks, I realize he was right and that we both confused companionship, general friendship and intense passion with chemistry. It happens, IT happened and I’m ok. We’ve communicated a few times since without any drama or resentment, which is awesome. We’re still able to have actual conversations. In general, I still like him as a person and wish him well, he deserves it, I just no longer have romantic feelings towards him. I wish more people were like him though. Very genuine guy. He restored my faith in the possibility of love (and men) and I appreciate that .

Aside from feeling a little more like myself, I’ve made it a point to occupy my free time with hobbies, outings with friends and traveling. I haven’t had too many weekends at home lately, which may or may not be a good thing 😊. Aside from the exhaustion, I’m just enjoying life.

This past weekend, I made a last minute trip to the western part of the state, this time with my family for the holiday weekend. While I was there, I met up with blast from the past. He took me out for dinner Saturday and get this, stayed off of his phone and actually engaged in conversation with me the entire time. Granted, he SHOULD have been doing this all along, but it was refreshing to connect with him as we used to. I really miss that sometimes. We really had some great times back then.

The whole situation with the ex (can I call him that since he referred to us as a couple???), made me also realize that while blast from the past and I are practically a perfect match on paper (no, this actually happened), we’re probably better off as friends and that’s ok. Maybe at times I latch on to him out of loneliness and he does the same thing. I feel like there’s mutual love there, but more along the lines of loyalty and support. In all of his stupidness, I’m confident that he’ll always have my back and I will have his.

Speaking of which, he finally gave me my birthday gift (only a month & 1/2 late). Ha, in his defense, he had to build it….

The last time I visited him, I was eyeballing Sega’s version of the NES classic. I didn’t spend a great deal of time checking it out and had no idea he really paid any attention to my drooling. Fast forward to this past weekend and he gives me what’s called a “raspberry pi”, which is basically a miniature computer (about the size of a cassette tape), that he preloaded with thousands of games from EVERY classic gaming system! Nostalgia 😍. You can plug the device into your t.v. and a game controller into the device to play. What a cool gift…that he built…spend hours on… Probably one of the most thoughtful gifts to date–which sidebar, he’s been giving me a ton of non holiday related gifts over the past year, “just because” 🤔.

Outside of all of that, I’ve just been focused on being happy and I’ve been realitively anxiety free lately (knock on wood). Dating–especially serious dating, makes me anxious. I’m not really in a rush to go out and date right now. I’m ok with being single. Besides, if I dated right now I would have zero interest in the guy really. There’s this guy that’s shown interest in dating me (and we’ve been out for drinks super casually – as in sneakers and jeans casually ), but I honestly can’t take him seriously for a plethora of reasons (too lazy to devote that level of interest to list)…all of this being stacked on top of my lack of interest in actually dating is an equation for going nowhere fast.

I have a feeling life will pan out. Life has a funny way of doing that. Just when you think something is the end of the world, something even better comes along.

Leave a Reply

